Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Misguided style basher

Posted On:
    8/09/2005 10:38am

Join us... or die
     Style: Kata

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Judo –cutting off its own nose to spite its face?

I haven’t competed in Judo for several years (I was a novice and impressively crap at it before anyone asks), so I might be behind the tide here. But I’ve read the Judo/BJJ thread with interest. I recently talked to some disillusioned Judoka who have taken issue with the ever more limiting rules of the sport. It seems that Judo’s current rules ethos has more to do with deterring Sombo and BJJ guys from competing in it (and being successful) than the fighting relevance of the activity. Rule enforcements limiting grips and scoring ippon against someone who throws guard etc.

Is Judo in danger of disappearing up its own arse?

I truly hope not because it is a great system which up until now has a lot of fighting relevance. What do you think the future holds?
    You are a total Douchbag. Train more, post nevermore.
    FickleFingerOfFate -08-21-2007 08:59 AM

just die already.
    Plasma - 08-20-2007 11:45 PM

Aikidokkkkakkakakakaaaaa
    Best MA website ever!!!!!: http://www.dogjudo.co.uk/

Brock Sampson

Posted On:
    8/09/2005 10:56am

supporting member
     Style: 5.56

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I found this to be true. Instead of embracing the inevitable changes they have decided to circle the wagons.

Jumping guard has been an auto-Ippon for a while. But the grip limitations are really killing the sport. I love the non-combativity penalties. But some of the crap is just lame.

I remember my last Judo competition. I think it was 1997(?), I got a BEAUTIFUL tani otoshi on this guy. IPPON! I was like...sweet. The judge awards the other guy the victory. I was like WTF?!?! Even my opponent was arguing that the judge got it wrong. The other guy didn't even try a throw. I came in with a couple of attempts, and then sat back for the Tani.