Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/19/2005 6:36am

Style: KickBoxing, Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Possible Mc Dojo - 12 month membership

I am thinking of joining a local Dojo. I am fairly new to martial arts so am asking for the advice of you more experienced people.

The place has a website here: www.fighting-fit.net

I havent had the chance to go down there and it seems ok from the website but the only problem is you have to join for a minimum of 12 months. They say this is to ensure people will stick with the martial art they are learning. Also that joining for 12 months won't disuade someone serious about martial arts wheras it will put off '5 minute guys' who come for a couple of weeks and give up, having wasted their and the instuctors' time.

What do you think?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/19/2005 8:01am

Style: Martial Arts man!

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    looks legit to me. Are you certain they don't have anything like a 3 month contract. Just make up some BS like you have to move in a few months but want to start training. If you end up likeing the place, you can say that you have decided not to move. Just make up something.
    Trust me, money talks - my dojo, tries to get you to sign up for at least a year but if you can't, they will try to get you for at least a few months.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/19/2005 8:43am

Style: Kali/Jun Fan/CSW

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Can you try a few classes before you decide to join or not? I noticed that non-members can try the Jiu-Jitsu classes (Japanese, not BJJ) at 5 per class, so you /could/ try that. I suspect you're more interested in the kickboxing and karate, though?

As far as I can tell from a quick glance at the website:

+Weight room
    +opening hours
    +entering competitions
    -contract (your info, not the website)
    -losing in their fights (read the "fight night" report) a lot.