Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2005 12:03am

Style: Fencing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

What should a MA newbie look for in an MMA gym/dojo/whatever?

I'll be honest, I'm a newbie in every sense of the word. I've never taken any MA that doesn't involve swords, except for a few months of token McKarate in middle school.

After a few months lurking at Bullshido and some other places, I've decided to give MMA a shot. There seems to be only one place that teaches it in my area, and I want to get some idea of whether or not learning there is going to screw me over with bad technique from the get-go. They'll apparently let anyone drop by and watch a class to see if it's on the level, so I'm thinking of going over. Problem is, I don't know what to look for.

Anyway, I know that is-this-a-McDojo threads from brand noobs are frowned upon, so how about a slightly more useful thread with tips on what warning signs to look for in an MMA dojo? Since it's MMA, I'm guessing that the obvious signs of Bullshido like 8-year-old black belts and mystical chi powers will probably not be there, so what other warning signs are there? Obviously a newbie won't be able to recognize improper grappling or badly applied wrist locks or whatever, but is there anything else that would give away the game?

Welterweight

Posted On:
    7/13/2005 12:17am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: BJJ and then some

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Well I think it's a good question. I imagine it would be difficult in several ways to tell if an MMA school was any good or not, if you were brand new to it. I'm sure there are people who could answer better than me, since I'm still new to the MMA scene myself.

Capitalist Pig

Posted On:
    7/13/2005 12:56am

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, no-gi, boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!