Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/22/2005 5:15pm

Style: Uncertain

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

School and Style questions (Hapkiyoosool/Jeff Allen)

Greets everyone,
    I should just come out and say now that I'm not experienced in any martial art per say. I've done some straight up self-defense training (which, thankfully, worked very well when I needed it.), but not nearly to the extent I would like, and I really would like to get serious about training. So...Here's my dilemna.

I'm looking for a school in Fort Lauderdale. Hapkido interests me, and seems like a pretty effective art. One of the things I'm looking for here, are some experienced opinions on this. I found one school, that seems to be excellent, and possibly bullshido, at the same time. The school is Hapkiyoosool, and the instructor is Jeff Allen. I've seen some pretty wild threads on here in regards to this, and I by NO means want to start up another crazy thread. If you've been to his school, trained with him, sparred with him, or been to a seminar, please give me your opinion.

By no means am I limiting my options to Hapkido, but the broad nature of the training seems like a good base martial art to learn. I'm also considering Muay Thai or Judo. Both I would take at American Top Team. I initially took a few classes there, but stopped for a long while due to a chest injury I got at a concert.

So basically, what form do you guys recommend? What are your opinions on Hapkido? I'm a fairly tall, skinnier person (6'2", 165 lbs) Is there any particular form I'd be more/less well suited to?

Thanks for any advice you guys give. I've read some pretty knowledgeable posts here. If this is in the wrong forum, please let me know. I am, as the icon says, a n00bie.

Knee + Head = Black Eye * 2

Posted On:
    6/22/2005 5:24pm

supporting member
     Style: Judo, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    http://www.hapkiyoosool.com/