Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Ex-ninja

Posted On:
    6/11/2005 1:39am

Style: Muso Shinden Ryu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Additional training

Next spring I'll be leaving Austin for Waco, TX, for law school. Sadly, this means I will also have to leave my current dojo, which I enjoy very much.

Fortunately, there is a Bujinkan dojo in Waco, taught by an instructor recommended to me by my own instructor. The only downside is that he only holds class once a week, far too little for my tastes. So while I will be continuing my Bujinkan training under a new sensei, I want to supplement my martial training with another art.

Since Waco is piss-poor as far as martial arts schools goes (given what I can find on the web), I was wondering if some knowledgable people on here could help me out. Ideally, I would like to choose an art I can begin training in here in Austin prior to moving, so that I don't have to start as a total beginner in Waco.

Baylor has several student clubs, which I would most likely be joining for monetary reasons (one of the downsides to law school is that students are prohibited from working at a part time job their first year). They are:

Yoseikan aikido
    Seven-star praying mantis kung fu
    Shotokan karate

I can start my training in either kung fu or Yoseikan here in Austin, but I do not know the quality of those schools here, though both seem to be under the same lineage. Shotokan karate is only taught through a club at UT, and as a recent graduate I can't train there.

So, if anyone knows anything about either the Austin or Waco branches of these schools, or any good, relatively cheap schools in the Waco area, let me know. And if anyone has any knowledge of either Yoseikan aikido/praying mantis kung fu in general, I'd appreciate it.

Of course, I could always train here:

http://www.tmahof.com/

:)

It appears they also have a "samurai sword" class...

http://www.tmahof.com/PSD/swordclass/swordclass.html