Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/21/2005 11:37am

Style: Hawaiian shirts

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Getting to the bottom of Shaolin-do

What began as a sense of awe while reading the "history" of shaolin-do (http://www.ashevilleshaolin.com/history.html) has gradually morphed into disgust and righteous anger. I started training there last week as something of a martial arts impulse buy, and since even the sifu thinks something is up (he's dropped the -do from the shaolin-do and brings in BJJ instructors on Saturdays for himself and his students), I feel the need to get to the bottom of this.

I'm also a history major at UNCA and am working on my senior thesis. I'm thinking the two could be combined.

As luck would have it, it turns out Sin Kwang Thé is coming to Asheville in late March. He's going to be personally attending the belt testing at Asheville Shaolin and deciding whether or not it should become officially offiliated with the Shaolin-Do association. It's almost as if the hand of God was behind these events.

So I intend to get to the bottom of this and try to arrange an interview with "Grandmaster" Thé while he is here. At the very least I want an explanation of the origins of his martial arts style.

This is all easier said than done. If I come off as too confrontational, I'll never get an interview. If I throw softball questions, he can be evasive and dodge any accountability. I'm thinking a good strategy may be to come in acting like an admirer, but then try to somehow trap him and get him to contradict himself.

Any suggestions on how to get the interview? What to ask if I do get it? Thanks in advance.

WARNING: BJJ may cause airway obstruction.

Posted On:
    2/21/2005 3:09pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Bajillion Joo Jizzu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    LOL THATS THE DUDE THAT CLAIMS TO HAVE MELTED A BABY IN HIS HANDS!!!

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/21/2005 3:49pm

Style: Hawaiian shirts

--