222444 Bullies, 4530 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

I'm surrounded by farms in middle america.

Posted On:
    1/05/2005 12:25pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Weightlifting kirstion

I have a kirstion about weightlifting. My goal for the benchpress is to press 200 lbs for 50 reps (I think it'd be cool to do high reps at that weight). Right now I'm still working on getting to 200 (I only started lifting in the beginning of dec - before I just did bodyweights). Is what I'm doing appropriate for rapid strength gain?
    I do a set until failure at around 4 reps. Then another set of 5 reps at a lower weight. Then I'm pretty much wiped out.

Posted On:
    1/05/2005 12:49pm

Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Your training program is incorrect. Who does 2 sets? do 3 sets at least, I would bump the reps up to at least 10 since your a beginner, if you wanna do drop sets go ahead, but I would do a drop bench. If your bench has uprights I would go for incline, normal, then decline at the same weight. Shouldn't be too hard.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    1/05/2005 1:04pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I don't really want to do an incline/decline, I've got a specific goal in mind I want to attain.
    As for the reps, it was my understanding that anything over 5-6 reps starts working more endurance and less actual strengthgain (something to do with pathways???). I'll concentrate on endurance once I hit the 200lb mark (I'm at 140 right now, 2 70lb DBs)

Notes: I'm using dumbbells for the BP, not a bar, doing it twice a week.

Posted On:
    1/05/2005 1:10pm

Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!