Marasmos

Posted On:
    11/23/2004 12:31pm

supporting member
     Style: 10th Planet JJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

TKD vs. MT Clip Revisited.

Remember the TKD vs. MT clip that keeps floating around, where the TKD fighter dominates completely, executing spinning jump kicks, double kicks, etc. and winning the fight while keeping his hands down at his waist throughout? This one. Now when I first saw it, I thought it was pretty cool. However, the more I think about it, the more fishy it seems. Let's look at it in some more detail. Before you make judgements and call me a MT nutrider (which I'm not) take a closer look.

1) The Thai boxer's not keeping his hands up. That's pretty atypical - generally, MT people learn to keep their hands up after the first few practice rounds. It just hurts too much when you don't. As of itself, this proves nothing, but let's keep going.
    2) Look at his stance and posture, even when they're not engaged. Now I'm not an expert, but it looks nothing like any kickboxing I've ever seen, even at the low amateur level.
    3) Look at how the Thai boxer retreats traight back every time. One of the first things they teach you in kickboxing is footwork. You never take more than two steps straight back - you either circle around or go forward.
    4) 31 seconds into the clip, the Thai boxer attempts to block a low kick with his arm. A classical TMA low-block, that you will NEVER see in MT. Blocking low kicks like that is a good way to get your arm broken, and even if it doesn't break, a low kick will simply blast right through it.
    5) If you look closely at the knockdown on the 46th second, you will see that the kick hits the shoulder and not the neck. I've never seen a knockdown from hitting a shoulder.