Middleweight

Posted On:
    10/18/2004 6:39pm

supporting member
     Style: boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Phil Elmore and the Martialist

This may have been posted on before, but any searches for his name return no results. So ...

Mr. Elmore has me puzzled. I am a newbie, to MA and to this board, so I will rely on my betters to supply experienced opinions. But have a look at his zine, the Martialist:

http://www.themartialist.com/

Here's what strikes me -- how certain he is. It's always been my experience that people who are deadly certain about anything, especially a lot of things, are doing it because they like the feeling of believing they are experts in stuff. Here are other random concerns:

1) He constantly refers to himself as "publisher (of the Martialist) Phil Elmore". But it's just a zine. Zines are great and all, but "publisher of a zine" means is that you have web space. It's like calling yourself "e-mail account holder Ed Hinesworth." Who cares?

2) He's an Ayn Rand fan. First, this is a problem because usually Randians are people who don't have the sack to own up to their true feelings and join the Klan. Also, Elmore fancies himself a moral philosopher, who says things like this:

Stating plainly that society is full of predators isn't a paranoid assertion, emotional hyperbole, or a marketing ploy. It's a fact. If you can look around and honestly state that you don't believe our society (I am American and speak only about the United States) contains a significant criminal element that preys on our citizens with regularity, you're living in denial. You don't believe the news reports of shootings, stabbings, rapes, burglaries, and robberies that appear every day in the media. You don't believe the tales of your friends, relatives, and fellow citizens who all seem to know someone who's been robbed or assaulted or found themselves in an extremely threatening situation for which they felt unprepared.