Page 1 of 5 12345 Last

Style
    BJJ (white belt)
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Longtime reader, first-time poster; or “Welcome to my impending mid-life crisis”

I think the title conveys a pretty good idea of what this post is about. I’ve read Bullshido for maybe 10 years, off and on. I love the threads I read- the skepticism, the discussion, and the routine slaughter of sacred cows, no matter their country of origin. After such a long time, I decided to take the plunge and become a supporting member to show my appreciation for the site and what goes on here.

I am a longtime student of the martial arts (started Goju Ryu when I was 10, circa 1983), and all of my training has been in the TMA and McDojo world- I was even a full-time McDojo instructor myself (ATA TKD, started in 1988, became a BB instructor in 1990). I gave that up in 2000, and my time dedicated to training any martial arts at all dwindled over the years. A few years ago, I went back to school to learn programming (ITT Tech - boy, can I pick the winners or what?) which had me sitting in a chair staring at a screen most of the day. I’ve also since published my first novel on Amazon- which represents even more time sitting in a chair staring at a screen. As you can imagine, my level of fitness has plummeted. This lack of exercise led to a knee injury and back problems. I had surgery almost two years ago; the knee continues to improve, but isn’t 100% (and probably never will be. Getting old sucks!).