Style
    TKD
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Looking for resources for serious martial arts scam article

Hi guys. I'm a Taekwondo instructor who also is an attorney and runs a legal help site. This past week I've been helping a friend deal with a martial arts school problem which is very disturbing news to me. I don't want to say too much yet because the issue is currently ongoing. I've learned that it's not so simple to identify all the different games that are played, especially since many are fronted by ostensibly legitimate instructors. It compelled me to compile a list of martial arts frauds in order to formulate a defining article to help people avoid all sorts of martial arts school scams and identify them before signing on the dotted line.

Understanding I am at Bullshido, all are certainly familiar with the McDojo, questionable martial arts being taught, by questionable "certified" instructors, what "certification" can actually mean, the multiple belt system and more stripes than a tiger routine (which you pay to test), etc. There are also the fly by night schools with revolving door instructors. This is the type of list I'm trying to compile. To provide a little detail of what I discovered, there are schools trying to entice students to sign long term agreements. It's the usual song and dance routine about how Master Tofu has been practicing for 40 years, our school is built on trust, integrity, blah blah and we always work things out with our students, etc. But there are more variations than I imagined, some quite creative and so subtle that only a truly experienced person could identify what is really going on. Hoping you guys can help me compile a list so I don't leave out the most common scams.

Style
    all things in Moderation
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by sadan View Post