Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Style
    street paddleboarding
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Medical Cannabis Patients Banned from Buying Firearms

Link: http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/u...-card-41778814

About a week ago, the 9th circuit court ruled that a federal ban on the sale of guns to medical cannabis card holders does not violate the Second Amendment. Since cannabis is federally illegal, and people who use illegal substances can't be sold firearms, and its reasonable to presume a medical marijuana cardholder uses marijuana, it is a simple logical flowchart to see their decision process. But throwing nuance out the window and tossing out states rights in favor of pointless scaremongering is the wrong move. I'd like to see any data they have backing up their notion that cannabis patients are more likely to commit gun violence.

I work in the legal cannabis industry in California, where such a card is a condition of my employment. So, it looks like I won't be getting the hunting rifle I was going to pick up this weekend, or any firearms in the future, despite my lack of criminal record. I work face to face daily with patients of all ages, walks of life, political preferences etc, and the court's view that these people shouldn't be allowed to arm themselves like other Americans shows a lot of ignorance to who's using the stuff. Our more conservative patients have been complaining about the decision all week, complete with the "cold, dead hands" rhetoric.

Speaking of which: Do you think the NRA will stand against this disarming of a large part of the Western populace for arbitrary reasons? Haven't heard anything yet.

Do you think their decision is constitutional? To me, its like saying no one over 21 can legally buy a gun, because they have a card that says they can buy alcohol and therefore must be blackout drunk 24/7. That's just silly though; there's nothing stopping an alcoholic from buying a gun.

Style
    BJJ
    Hell yeah! Hell no!