Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1
    <Insert something clever here> supporting member
    Raven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,590
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

    Where can you get codecs for windows medai player from?

    I'm trying to open tv shows I've downloaded, and it always gets error when trying to download the codec.

    Where can I get them?
    :qleft1: :new_cussi :qmickey: :evil7: :XXcat: :XXfish: :5crackup:

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    681
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...ad/default.asp

    You may need to get admin rights to install player codecs.
    The player itself should be able to automatcially download new codecs, unless your network admin has blocked it form doing so.
    Last edited by m4949; 5/14/2004 9:36am at .

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    212
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    In some cases, you must go to the vendor who created the codec, because MS does not have everything.

  4. #4
    <Insert something clever here> supporting member
    Raven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,590
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Ok thanks

    Hopefully that helps.

    I found out one format I was downloading, was a vcd format. :eek:
    :qleft1: :new_cussi :qmickey: :evil7: :XXcat: :XXfish: :5crackup:

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    681
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Some companies requier you to Buy their decoder in order for you to view the files.

  6. #6
    <Insert something clever here> supporting member
    Raven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,590
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Is there a good all encompasing player?
    :qleft1: :new_cussi :qmickey: :evil7: :XXcat: :XXfish: :5crackup:

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    681
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Windows media is the best. It's supports most codecs.
    It's not the player in some cases. The codec manufacture will sometimes want you to buy the decoder so the player you use will be able to decode its format.
    I have found in most cases, if the codec is installed, WM player will play it.

  8. #8
    Zub-Zub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dullsville, Utah
    Posts
    498
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    In windows media player options, there is a list of files extensions/associations, I'll bet mp3 extension has been unchecked in that list. Rechecking it would probably fix that. If worse comes to worst, you can always just reinstall the media player.


    Quote Originally Posted by ggboxer
    You know what, the hell with this ****. I'll leave my lame ass bitching ways and suck off the site management as my compliments, but I'll maintain my boobtastic status here always.

  9. #9
    Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,677
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I've always found the DivX codec to work quite compatibly with Windows Media Player, with no errors to date.

    www.divx.com
    "Onward we stagger, and if the tanks come, may God help the tanks." - Col. William O. Darby

  10. #10
    <Insert something clever here> supporting member
    Raven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,590
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Originally posted by Rising Phoenix
    I've always found the DivX codec to work quite compatibly with Windows Media Player, with no errors to date.

    www.divx.com
    That helped. Thanks.
    :qleft1: :new_cussi :qmickey: :evil7: :XXcat: :XXfish: :5crackup:

Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO