• Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 6 1 2345 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Middleweight

Posted On:
    5/08/2004 2:15pm

Business Class Supporting Member
     New York MMA Examiner Style: magic FUCKING powers!

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Standing small joint manipulation?

Okay, I'll try to give you an explaination for what I'm doing here and why I'm asking about small joint manipulation before I get to the actual question without this being too much of a "Hi, I'm new" thread.

I'm a writer by profesion and a martial artist by hobby. I move around a lot, so I don't stick around to practice at anyone one school for very long. Right now, I'm writing a book that has a lot about the martial arts, both TMA and MMA, imbedded into it. Incodentally, it's a book that I've spent a lot of time to make sure it can get on the shelves shortly after its completion. Now, I've been trying to write this novel in such a way that uses all the metaphors of the martial arts and their parallels with other aspects of life while trying not to go into the realm of bullshido. Now, that line probably sounds like bullshido. Let's say it this way, I'm writing it like a piece of literature, not an instruction manual. But, I don't want it to be unrealistic. To this end, I've joined a lot of martial arts communities online (the_dojang being one of the most prolific) in order to talk to people who can give me differing opinions on what the matrial arts means to them but can also help me stay grounded in reality.

That long-ass paragraph is pretty much the motivation for every question I'll ask on this forum. Now, on to the actual martial arts.