Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    1/06/2014 10:09am

Style: It's complicated.

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

How Fussy Should I Be About Judo Pants?

Hey guys! I've been doing Judo for a few months now and, since my intention is to stick with it, my sensei has asked me to ditch my blue BJJ gi and get a white judo gi.

I found a smoking deal on used Mizuno gi top but I'll need pants to match. I doubt I'll be competing anytime soon but we randori (newaza and from standing) at every class so I'm wondering what quality of gi pants I should get. Will low end / generic pants cut it or should I spend bigger bucks on matching Mizuno pants?

Thanks!

Registered Member

Posted On:
    1/06/2014 12:50pm

Style: FMA/SAMBO

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Cheaper pants are probably fine, especially with the current rules restrictions of leg grabs. I've gone through a few jackets, but pants hold up better. Unless you do a ton of newaza, where the knees might start wearing, cheaper pants should be OK.

My dog is cuter and smarter than yours.

Posted On:
    1/06/2014 2:48pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Kodokan Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'd get normal quality pants at this point. They should last a while unless you start practicing multiple times per week. Even then, the better pants can be pricey, and you might be able to get two cheaper pants for the price of the expensive ones.
    Falling for Judo since 1980

Registered Member

Posted On:
    1/06/2014 3:21pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    What would be an example of normal quality? I've seen judo pants as low as 14.99$ on seemingly reputable websites but I can't help but feel skeptical.

Posted On:
    1/06/2014 6:36pm

Join us... or die

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Keej613 View Post
    What would be an example of normal quality? I've seen judo pants as low as 14.99$ on seemingly reputable websites but I can't help but feel skeptical.