218358 Bullies, 7728 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Results 51 to 53 of 53
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Sponsored Links Spacer Image
  1. CrackFox is offline
    CrackFox's Avatar

    You have to work the look.

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bat Country
    Posts
    2,977

    Posted On:
    12/06/2013 7:12pm

    supporting member
     Style: Judo

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickosaurus View Post
    My knowledge of the rules is certainly not referee level but isn't there something in the new rules about landing in a bridge position being considered Ippon
    Yeah, before if you bridged then you might get away with not having the ippon called. Now it won't stop it. It's one of the few recent rules I agree with. Let's all stop trying to break our necks to avoid losing a match.

    I also like that this is balanced with a rule addressing over-rotation. Now you have to aim that guy's back at the mats and plant it. If you over cook it, tough luck. If he tries to bridge out of it, it's no use to him.

    If only I could do a leg grab. Judo would be the bestest.
  2. BKR is offline
    BKR's Avatar

    My dog is cuter and smarter than yours.

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bonners Ferry, Idaho
    Posts
    3,799

    Posted On:
    12/06/2013 7:26pm

    Join us... or die
     Style: Kodokan Judo

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilG View Post
    It's a common beginner mistake to try to fix that initial position into the ideal hold they've been taught, but lose the hold in that transition. You won't likely be perfect, take what you've got, maintain pressure and fix it carefully if you have to.
    Quoted for truth...the basic pin forms are there to show a specific principle of "immobilization" (oseakomi), and practice in isolation.
    Falling for Judo since 1980
  3. blackmonk is online now
    blackmonk's Avatar

    Welterweight

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    732

    Posted On:
    12/06/2013 10:04pm

    supporting member
     Style: belt and jacket wrestling

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickosaurus View Post
    My knowledge of the rules is certainly not referee level but isn't there something in the new rules about landing in a bridge position being considered Ippon
    Yes. Saw it in a tournament that we just hosted.
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Powered by vBulletin™© contact@vbulletin.com vBulletin Solutions, Inc. 2011 All rights reserved.