Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/21/2013 9:51am

Style: Hapkido

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

An Experiment in Wing Chun

So I've studied a lot of martial arts over the last 18 years or so, and like many people on this board, I firmly believe that training with active resistance (an opponent who genuinely does not want you to be successful as you try to apply a technique) is one of the only ways to separate out the garbage and gain the skills to apply either in real life or in a ring. As a physicist, I have to further emphasize that philosophy. No matter how awesome a theory may sound, if it doesn't hold up to real-life testing, it's garbage.

I have read a lot of the threads here on Wing Chun (and watched a lot of videos), and while many of them quickly digress to your typical internet arguments, some key points that really stuck with me are the genuine lack of success of wing chun in an MMA setting, and what appears to be a tendency for fighters going style-against-style to stray from (or abandon) wing chun as they fight.

On the other side, a lot of the principals behind wing chun seem not only sound, but clever and efficient from a physics point of view. I know garbage in martial arts very well, especially when it comes to bad science. Wing chun has plenty of it, just like a large number of other styles, but my gut tells me there may be some substance in there too.