pro nonsense self defense

Posted On:
    9/12/2013 11:46am

supporting member
     Style: FMA, dumbek, Indian clubs

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Kusarigama

Recently, a friend saw some of my projects where I've repurposed broken long blades into shorter full tang ones, and he gave me a broken blade he's been holding on to. Its a curved, double edge knife with one side serrated; a knockoff Al Mar warrior knife in fact. Its got a short tang though. Anyway, I was contemplating what to do with it, and my inner ninja got an idea: make a kusarigama! I've already got a few wooden batons I could use for a handle.

However, to get some info on the specs for building one, I end up finding myself in the uncomfortable world of the self-taught teenage ninja do-it-yourself community. Who I really shouldn't be deriding too much, cause here I am, a grown man, building a kusarigama.

So, some questions I have:
    -Where should I be looking? I know there's some real Japanese arts that use the weapon.

-How come some kusarigama have the chain attached to the business end of the kama, and some attach to the base of the handle?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each?

-How long should the chain be? I've heard they can be 10-15 feet long but some of the pics of old ones are clearly shorter.

-How heavy a weight?

-Am I gonna kill myself with this thing? I've never trained in its proper use, but I've got experience with the bullwhip and chain whip and 3SS.

Posted On:
    9/12/2013 3:09pm

Join us... or die
     Style: 血鷲

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Permalost View Post

Am I gonna kill myself with this thing?
    Depends.

1) What's your life insurance?

2) Did your designated beneficiary contribute to the weapon's design?

Posted On:
    9/12/2013 4:59pm

Style: BBT/BJJ/CJKD

Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Permalost View Post