Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/26/2013 9:38am

Style: none yet

Hell yeah! Hell no!

Neo-Newbie here. TKD vs American?

Alright, a little back-info here.

So, I'm turning 30, and want to not be an out-of-shape putz anymore. I'm jumping back on the cardio bandwagon, and I'd like to get back into Martial arts.

Now, I've tried a few martial arts over the years, but things have come up to where I end up quitting. Many times financial, sometimes, other, but it happens.

I've tried traditional Japanese Karate (Shorin-Ryu) and some Korean (Tang Soo Do), but the most fun I honestly had was when I was a teenager taking American Karate. Yes, I know it's not the most effective combat style by far, but I honestly enjoyed it, and that kept me going. I stuck with it for about a year until my studio closed, and then my parents couldn't afford anything else at the time (I was like 14).

I want something fun, and something that implements a lot of sparring. I'm fine with learning a "combat-sport" over an actual fighting style, and I know that both American and Tae Kwon Do tend to be more of a sport than anything else. They are also both fun, active, and competitive.

I'd like some recommendations on American Karate vs Tae Kwon Do, namely reasons why you think one would be better than the other. And yes, I read the FAQ about ATA before I posted this. Much kudos on the guy being as blunt and honest as he was.

Also, I live in Duluth, GA, so bonus points for anyone who has a specific instructor or studio/dojo to direct me towards.

I'm an empty cup, guys, Fill me up or smash me to bits, your call.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/26/2013 11:02am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!