Your adversary should thank you for the "keep-the-left-up-when-closing" reminder.
Looked like he couldn't decide whether to go overhand with the right (with some kind of weird chambered-left position...I thought you were the Karateka in this match) or single-leg with the left--in which case he could still have closed range with the left in a more protective position for longer than he did.
Either way, his coach will make much use of the vid to try and get his charge back to bread-and-butter defensive basics.
Last edited by Vieux Normand; 8/13/2013 2:13pm at .
Also, I don't know how amateur rules work in Arizona, but most refs here in NY would have given you the KO even if you did hit with your knee. In amateur muay thai, knees to the head aren't allowed, but that's mostly interpreted as "no pulling the head down for knees in the clinch", and if you duck your head into a knee, it's your own stupid fault.
This is a kickass GIF that needs to go down in the annals of Bullshido history.
Originally Posted by Tetsumusha
And it goodnight Irene! Tetsumusha ends the bout with head kick ko in his mixed martial arts de-boo, as Michael Schiavello would've called the match.
Nice kick, timing is everything !
How much competition did you do in your 4 years of Judo?
Falling for Judo since 1980
"You are wrong. Why? Because you move like a pregnant yak and talk like a spazzing 'I train UFC' noob." -DCS
In watching video of his previous fight, and seeing him in the first round, I knew he did that--he sort of wings a big overhand right while diving for a single at the same time. That's how I was able to time the kick, although I have to say he actually did close the distance faster than I expected.
Originally Posted by Vieux Normand
They didn't specifically say that they would have DQ'd me or ruled it a NC, but the way they were talking about it certainly made it sound like those were possibilities. In the rules meeting before the event, the commission made it sound like the rules were very strict. I would think that if they were going to say it was illegal, they would have ruled it a NC since I didn't throw it intentionally. They were eventually able to find a camera angle that confirmed what the ref and I said (that it was the ankle/instep) and ruled it a KO by kick.
Originally Posted by Neo Sigma
Honestly, not a whole lot--I'm not a very competitive person, by nature. Maybe 6-7 judo tournaments and a no-gi grappling tournament.
Originally Posted by BKR
Nice timing, way to catch a flaw in your opponents video.
Congrats on your win. Nice kick!
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO