Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Ground and pound for street self defense?

Some people talk **** about using the guard in a street self defense situation, but wouldn't ground and pound from top be pretty dangerous too? In the sense that if you miss, your fists' meeting with the hard ground isn't going to be pretty. Wouldn't your fists turn into bloody mush?

Style
    Thai Boxing
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'm no expert in legal technicalities, but I suspect that when you're beating your "attacker" while he's laying on his back, you're no longer defending yourself. When are you going to start your Judo class?

Style
    Recovery(lung surgeries)
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Magpie McGee View Post
    I'm no expert in legal technicalities, but I suspect that when you're beating your "attacker" while he's laying on his back, you're no longer defending yourself. When are you going to start your Judo class?
    Not true. You need to be safe. Rarely does someone go down with a single strike and I don't know if you have ever mounted and pounded someone in their faceholes, but I promise you they are not happy 100% of the time.

You may have just escalated your personal danger level by letting them up.

I would pass on ground and pound if given the option and situation, but not for fear of missing and hurting my hand if they have good head movement you simply get a higher mount and trap an arm to limit mobility and their guard or/and throw elbows till you can choke them out.
    Quote Originally Posted by ghost55 View Post
    Violence is pretty uncommon in clubs in this area, and the dude didn't seem particularly hostile up until the moment he slapped me.
    I don't mean to sound bitter, cold, or cruel, but I am, so that's how it comes out.
    BILL HICKS,
    1961-1994

Quote Originally Posted by WFMurphyPhD View Post