Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    4/25/2013 3:44am

Style: MMA, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

BJJ tactics vs a Judoka

I've been training BJJ for the past 10 months, and next Saturday I'll be competing in my first gi competition. There's 3 competitors in my division (including myself), and thus we'll be playing in a league format.

One of my opponents has less experience than me in BJJ (he's joined our club about 5 months ago), but on the other hand he's got 4 years of Judo training experience.

What would you guys suggest as the best tactic against this guy?

I suppose wrestling clinch is out as I'll be entering his comfort zone there and setting myself up for a throw.

Would shooting for a double leg takedown be better, or pulling guard? Thanks for any advice :)

C.E. B.S.net Ambassador

Posted On:
    4/25/2013 6:03am

supporting member
     Style: (Beautiful) Spring Roll

Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Hello Rarius, good luck at the competition.

Did you discuss this with your instructor? What did he/she say?

Do you train standup as well (meaning throws and such)?

Some folks just simply pull guard and are thus regarded as buttfloppers by judoka/wrestlers. :-)

I believe one needs to drill takedowns and throws, although naturally at a BJJ gym it will make up a lesser portion of your training time than at a judo school.

And remember - it is Basically Just Judo... :-)

Oh, I just re-read what you wrote - you are going to compete against a teammate? Is it an in house competition?

CLICK & WATCH
    :
    I got BULLSHIDO ON TV!!!

"Bruce Lee sucks because I slammed my nuts with nunchucks trying to do that stupid **** back in the day. I still managed to have two kids. I forgive you Bruce.
    " - by Vorpal

Registered Member

Posted On:
    4/25/2013 6:39am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Tonuzaba View Post
    Hello Rarius, good luck at the competition.