Page 1 of 13 1 234511 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    3/31/2013 2:14pm

Bullshido Newbie

Hell yeah! Hell no!

Which MA for self defence?

Hi guys,

This probably gets posted several thousand times a day, so apologies in advance. I am looking for a MA which is focused primarily on self defence. I don't care about belts, tournaments, etc. I just want to learn how to defend myself in a realistic situation (e.g against multiple opponents, tight spaces, weapons). I have no previous MA experience.

I have spent half the day reading up on different styles and am currently considering Krav Maga, MT, Eskrima, Systema (which seems to be universally panned on this forum), and BJJ (which seems to be universally praised on this forum). Can you offer me some advice?

I live in Perth, Western Australia - are there any decent clubs here?

Thanks very much!

Lightweight

Posted On:
    3/31/2013 2:39pm

Business Class Supporting Membersupporting member
     Central Texas Combatives Training Group Style: AMOK!

Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yes, it's been asked a few times...

1) Find something in your area you can train regularly. The best system is one you have competency in when you are attacked, not the one you hope to someday study...

2) Just accept right now that there is no "one true system" that is the best at all standup/grappling/ground/knife/club/pistol/rifle/whatever. To get the best instruction in multiple disciplines you should and must train in a variety of systems. This is where you supplement whatever training you have available locally with seminar/private/small group and/or video instruction in other systems.

Good luck with your training and welcome to Bullshido.

Registered Member

Achievements:
    31 days registeredTagger Second Class

Posted On:
    3/31/2013 3:16pm

Style: Judo noob

Hell yeah! Hell no!