Page 6 of 17 First ... 234567891016 ... Last
  1. #51
    King Sleepless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cuba
    Posts
    10,058
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by goodlun View Post
    If he isn't running a converter box he probably is running DVI over VGA so it is most likely a digital signal. It is still a stupid way of doing it none the less.
    I'm gonna go with he probably isn't. With the way this has ended up, I'm assuming the worst for everything.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Machette View Post
    Mr. Webster dissagrees. Sory amigo, I'm going to have to go with ol' Merriam on this one.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/thesaurus/diminishment


    I was following you through the cryogenic space travel but you lost me here.

    You obviously don't understand why audio and video would be run to seperate components but that's o.k. As you say at your level of use it doesn't make much of a difference. Just buy a receiver that does all the complicated stuff for you and forget I ever mentioned it.
    Let me clarify, "Diminishment of returns" is not what you're looking for. You're looking for diminishing returns.

    Also, I do understand why audio and video would be run to different component cables. It's because it's analog signal that has to be split between audio and visual so that there aren't any ghosting or noise crossover.

    What YOU don't understand is how HDMI works or, as it seems, the difference between digital and analog.

    Tell me, where exactly do you think you'll find a movie or some other media that has both video and audio, that uses high quality uncompressed audio AND video at the same time that HDMI couldn't handle better than a shitty Analog component?

    On top of that, the way pretty much every electronic is these days, it all gets converted to digital anyway. So if that's the case, why convert it from digital to analog back to digital? How does that make it "pro" and not "stupid."

    Running separate components made sense when everything was analog.

  2. #52
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,324
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    I'm gonna go with he probably isn't. With the way this has ended up, I'm assuming the worst for everything.
    I am under the impression that HDMI ports don't do Analog if this is wrong then you are most likely right. If I am right about them not doing analog than it has to be DVI.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    What YOU don't understand is how HDMI works or, as it seems, the difference between digital and analog.

    Tell me, where exactly do you think you'll find a movie or some other media that has both video and audio, that uses high quality uncompressed audio AND video at the same time that HDMI couldn't handle better than a shitty Analog component?

    On top of that, the way pretty much every electronic is these days, it all gets converted to digital anyway. So if that's the case, why convert it from digital to analog back to digital? How does that make it "pro" and not "stupid."

    Running separate components made sense when everything was analog.
    I use to hate the discussions in school about analog vs digital with the people who lacked the experience in digital.
    The only time your going to want analog over digital is if your Analog to digital sampling is below your Nyquist limit to net the results you want.
    You also solve a lot of phase issues so that your audio and Video actually stay in sync with digital.

  3. #53
    King Sleepless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cuba
    Posts
    10,058
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by goodlun View Post
    I am under the impression that HDMI ports don't do Analog if this is wrong then you are most likely right. If I am right about them not doing analog than it has to be DVI.


    I use to hate the discussions in school about analog vs digital with the people who lacked the experience in digital.
    The only time your going to want analog over digital is if your Analog to digital sampling is below your Nyquist limit to net the results you want.
    You also solve a lot of phase issues so that your audio and Video actually stay in sync with digital.
    It doesn't. I'm assuming he has some stupid converter thing on there.

    Don't worry, Mr. Machete will fly in and continue to be vague and not explain his position.

  4. #54
    Mr. Machette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,237
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    On top of that, the way pretty much every electronic is these days, it all gets converted to digital anyway. So if that's the case, why convert it from digital to analog back to digital? How does that make it "pro" and not "stupid."
    If that's the case then yes, it would be stupid.

    You want as few gain stages as possible.

    Why would Machette run signals to different components?

    Because I like it loud. ;)


  5. #55
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,324
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Machette View Post

    Why would Machette run signals to different components?

    Because I like it loud. ;)

    You know the more components you run the more you should want to run a digital solution. Is your industry stuck in the 80s?

  6. #56
    King Sleepless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cuba
    Posts
    10,058
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Machette View Post
    If that's the case then yes, it would be stupid.

    You want as few gain stages as possible.

    Why would Machette run signals to different components?

    Because I like it loud. ;)

    That doesn't matter.

    If you run a digital signal (which is 99% of the sources these days) why would you run it through an analog signal?

    That doesn't make any sense at all.

  7. #57
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,324
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    That doesn't matter.

    If you run a digital signal (which is 99% of the sources these days) why would you run it through an analog signal?

    That doesn't make any sense at all.
    Because you want to add in the latency and other issues of doing an DAC to ADC to DAC

  8. #58
    Mr. Machette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,237
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by goodlun View Post
    You know the more components you run the more you should want to run a digital solution. Is your industry stuck in the 80s?
    Those are just power amplifiers. Even if your signal routing is purely digital from source to amp (not uncommon at all these days) something still has to drive the speakers. We don't have digital ears...

    ...yet...

  9. #59
    itwasntme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norf Carolina, throw ya hands up
    Posts
    1,715
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

    Re: Do you have technical issues? Let me try to help you.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    No. You're running an analog signal into a cable that converts it into a video only, digital signal. The cable is capable of massive data pulling, but at this point, nothing you're doing matters because you're not pushing out the right signal.
    Maybe I'm tired and should just reread all this tomorrow, but I thought you said it's my video card not the cable that is putting out the wrong signal.

  10. #60
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,324
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Machette View Post
    Those are just power amplifiers. Even if your signal routing is purely digital from source to amp (not uncommon at all these days) something still has to drive the speakers. We don't have digital ears...
    ...yet...
    Very familiar with the concept, I use digital signals to control analog outputs often from motor controllers to driving relays to the what not.
    With a proper digital setup you wouldn't need a ton of amplifiers.

Page 6 of 17 First ... 234567891016 ... Last

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO