Page 5 of 17 First 12345678915 ... Last
  1. #41
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,314
    1
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
    I have the best of both worlds seeing how I run my video from HDMI and sound runs off the RCA.
    No your not running HDMI, your running a VGA signal over HDMI.

  2. #42
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,314
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Machette View Post
    What propulsion system would you reccomend to overcome this light speed barrier? Or, failing that, how would you propose I nullify the mass of my vehicle?
    Don't nullify the mass.
    Use the infinite improbability drive.

    or

    Quantum Entanglement

  3. #43
    itwasntme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norf Carolina, throw ya hands up
    Posts
    1,715
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

    Re: Do you have technical issues? Let me try to help you.

    Quote Originally Posted by goodlun View Post
    No your not running HDMI, your running a VGA signal over HDMI.
    The difference being?

  4. #44
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,314
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
    The difference being?
    http://homecinematics.com/107/vga-hdmi/

  5. #45
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,314
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Well actually that article doesn't cover your situation well. I am assuming that your video card is sending digital over VGA or it wouldn't work at all. I have had cards that had VGA/DVI so what you are losing by using VGA over HDMI is the audio. Well duh we already know this. However had you been sending an HDMI signal it would include Digital Audio as well. Where as if you use a hokey setup you will have an analog audio signal and a lowish quality one most likely.

  6. #46
    itwasntme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norf Carolina, throw ya hands up
    Posts
    1,715
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

    Re: Do you have technical issues? Let me try to help you.

    Quote Originally Posted by goodlun View Post
    Well actually that article doesn't cover your situation well. I am assuming that your video card is sending digital over VGA or it wouldn't work at all. I have had cards that had VGA/DVI so what you are losing by using VGA over HDMI is the audio. Well duh we already know this. However had you been sending an HDMI signal it would include Digital Audio as well. Where as if you use a hokey setup you will have an analog audio signal and a lowish quality one most likely.
    So what you are saying is the video being sent to my tv is not high def, I'm just using a high def cable.

  7. #47
    King Sleepless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cuba
    Posts
    10,058
    1
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Machette View Post
    I got one for you:

    My interstellar space craft is currently only capable of sub-light speeds. As it approaches the speed of light proportionately greater energy is required to accelerate it's mass creating a frustrating diminishment of returns.

    What propulsion system would you reccomend to overcome this light speed barrier? Or, failing that, how would you propose I nullify the mass of my vehicle?




    BTW, pros run their audio and video signals seperately. HDMI is for pedestrians.
    "Diminishment" is not a word.

    Secondly, the amount of energy required would turn your ship into fire. You're better off trying to pin the pieces of space together. With the discovery of the Higgs Boson, we're not too far off from being able to control mass in the same way we control electricity. If that's the case, then you'll probably see experimental nuclear drives pushing the spaceship around.

    If you're not worried about losing your family, you can also just freeze yourself and time won't be a problem and it wouldn't really matter how fast you're going. You obviously haven't really thought this out, so I guess it doesn't matter. Even then, at those speeds, you haven't gotten around unknown radiation sources, invisible electrical storms, nebulae that eat everything alive, etc. etc.

    Also, running audio/video separately is a thing of the past when everything was an analog signal. Digital Signals don't need to be separated due to the nature of the decoding done by digital signals. Unless your source is of extremely high quality: i.e. FLAC or some other source, it doesn't matter. Having a high quality sound card to transport your sound from won't make a difference between HDMI and a standalone digital audio card when your source sound is like 200kbps. And besides, HDMI can push 10.2 Gbit/s. Unless you have the master source for sound and audio and are running them in like 80 instances, the HDMI will be more than capable of pulling your data through. And even IF you wanted to run your audio separately, you would run HDMI to a receiver anyway to distribute your sound out to speakers as receivers are more and more running HDMI input. So yeah, you're wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
    So what you are saying is the video being sent to my tv is not high def, I'm just using a high def cable.
    No. You're running an analog signal into a cable that converts it into a video only, digital signal. The cable is capable of massive data pulling, but at this point, nothing you're doing matters because you're not pushing out the right signal.

  8. #48
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,314
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    No. You're running an analog signal into a cable that converts it into a video only, digital signal. The cable is capable of massive data pulling, but at this point, nothing you're doing matters because you're not pushing out the right signal.
    If he isn't running a converter box he probably is running DVI over VGA so it is most likely a digital signal. It is still a stupid way of doing it none the less.

  9. #49
    goodlun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ramona CA
    Posts
    7,314
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
    So what you are saying is the video being sent to my tv is not high def, I'm just using a high def cable.
    No, what you will be missing is the digitally transmitted audio.

  10. #50
    Mr. Machette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,237
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    "Diminishment" is not a word.
    Mr. Webster dissagrees. Sory amigo, I'm going to have to go with ol' Merriam on this one.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/thesaurus/diminishment

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Sleepless View Post
    Also, running audio/video separately is a thing of the past when everything was an analog signal. Digital Signals don't need to be separated due to the nature of the decoding done by digital signals. Unless your source is of extremely high quality: i.e. FLAC or some other source, it doesn't matter. Having a high quality sound card to transport your sound from won't make a difference between HDMI and a standalone digital audio card when your source sound is like 200kbps. And besides, HDMI can push 10.2 Gbit/s. Unless you have the master source for sound and audio and are running them in like 80 instances, the HDMI will be more than capable of pulling your data through. And even IF you wanted to run your audio separately, you would run HDMI to a receiver anyway to distribute your sound out to speakers as receivers are more and more running HDMI input. So yeah, you're wrong.
    I was following you through the cryogenic space travel but you lost me here.

    You obviously don't understand why audio and video would be run to seperate components but that's o.k. As you say at your level of use it doesn't make much of a difference. Just buy a receiver that does all the complicated stuff for you and forget I ever mentioned it.

Page 5 of 17 First 12345678915 ... Last

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO