Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2012 11:37am

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Set me straight.

In general is it frowned apon to promote a bjj program while wearing a judo black belt while being ranked a purple in bjj. Or just a little shifty.

Gnarly King of Half-Guard

Posted On:
    7/13/2012 11:47am

Join us... or die

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Depending on exactly what you mean by 'promote' it sounds at minimum slightly unwise.
  3. eloneamigo

Posted On:
    7/13/2012 11:48am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Kharon View Post
    In general is it frowned apon to promote a bjj program while wearing a judo black belt while being ranked a purple in bjj. Or just a little shifty.
    If you have to ask, you may have answered your own question. If I was a black belt in Judo, I would focus on Judo and integrate bjj on the side, but I wouldn't in good conscience be able to sell the idea that i am an expert if I only held a purple belt just my 2.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2012 11:53am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yes it's pretty shifty. Yea it's kinda frowned upon. People will assume because you are wearing a black belt, and promoting BJJ that you are a BJJ black belt. Wear your purple belt, it's more honest. And there is nothing unimpressive about a purple belt IMHO. I'd take a lesson from someone wearing a purple belt any day.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2012 11:59am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by PointyShinyBurn View Post
    Depending on exactly what you mean by 'promote' it sounds at minimum slightly unwise.
    By promote I mean to make a promotional video for your website. I'm leaning towards your slightly unwise.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2012 12:01pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Zerstörer90 View Post