-
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2003
- Location
- Alabama
- Posts
- 310
- Points
- 442



Posted On:
7/11/2012 12:27am
Style: Taekwondo/Eskrima--
http://www.lloydirvin.com/adult/bjj/
if you scroll down on this annoying website you will see Lloyd Irvin claiming the exact same things as this spartan fitness BJJ/MM website. -
Light Heavyweight
Achievements:- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Pensacola, FL
- Posts
- 3,759
- Points
- 5,570


Posted On:
7/11/2012 10:33am

Style: Stick, Taiji, combatives--
I'm not sure about those exact credentials. Here is his Fight record on Sherdog:
http://www.sherdog.com/fighter/Chris-Connelly-9336
I competed against some of the Spartan guys one time at a BJJ tournament and they were good. They had some really good guys there, and their school was huge!
Have you tried sending them an e-mail?Combatives training log.
Gezere: paraphrase from Bas Rutten, Never escalate the level of violence in fight you are losing. :D
Drum thread -
Light Heavyweight
Achievements:- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Pensacola, FL
- Posts
- 3,759
- Points
- 5,570


Posted On:
7/11/2012 10:37am

Style: Stick, Taiji, combatives--
This looks like the real Spartain MMA site:
http://spartanfitnessmma.com/about/
The site you posted in the OP doesn't link back to this site. So, I think the alabamaBJJ site is actually BS.Combatives training log.
Gezere: paraphrase from Bas Rutten, Never escalate the level of violence in fight you are losing. :D
Drum thread -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2003
- Location
- Alabama
- Posts
- 310
- Points
- 442



Posted On:
7/11/2012 12:11pm
Style: Taekwondo/Eskrima--
That is what I was thinking. But then it is not confirmed if the site is BS or not, it looks almost exactly like the same webmaster made both websites the same way.
Possibly someone has beef with the SF instructor and made a fake website. But then again we dont know maybe he did make the website.
I trained at Spartan for 1 months and I do agree with you, the 2 purple belts are really good, and Chris is very good at kickboxing from what i saw. The training is very intense and will get you fit.
I dont know enough about the gym though cause I only trained 1 month and im also not originally from Alabama so I think someone else from Alabama nd knows the MMA scene should email him about it. I dont want to get involved, I just thought I would bring this up: either to protect an innocent MMA instructor, or to expose someone who is lying. Hopefully he isnt responsible. -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2003
- Location
- Alabama
- Posts
- 310
- Points
- 442



Posted On:
7/11/2012 12:14pm
Style: Taekwondo/Eskrima--
Actually it does link back to the mains partanfitnessmma.com site if you click "contact." But then it doesnt link back to the birminghambjj website. So yeah...
Also there are links on the "scheduel" portion of the website saying "Click spartanmma.com for more info"
also I found this: http://alabamahealthandfitness.com/about/ after clicking on strength and conditioning. It says the same BS stuff too.Last edited by Andrew WA; 7/11/2012 12:21pm at . Reason: I had more info to ad
-
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Feb 2008
- Location
- Alabama
- Posts
- 91
- Points
- 201

Posted On:
7/11/2012 12:18pm
Style: FMA, JJ, Judo--
I live 45 minutes from there. I go to Birmingham every couple of weeks to train when I do my work business that way. I can drop in and check them out.
On a side note Spartan Fitness is a great school. As for the claims I am seeing on there, I've never heard those before now.
****
As a side note, here is a pretty good school in that area. One of his guys is a blue belt in my city and he's really very good.
http://alabamabjj.com/ -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2003
- Location
- Alabama
- Posts
- 310
- Points
- 442



Posted On:
7/11/2012 12:41pm
Style: Taekwondo/Eskrima--
Cool man. I am also getting one of my friends who spent 6 months training there, but had to go to Auburn, to ask one of the guys who still trains there.
Chris Connelly is listed only as a purple belt by Matt Thorton: http://www.straightblastgym.com/bjjranks.htm
Now if someone is trying to defraud Chris Connelly's integirty then he needs to be found out, and I could see a lawsuit being filed for slander and defamation.
Spartan Fitness has talented guys, and will work you hard. It is for the MMA enthusiast and crossfit type people.
Right now I dont have any money but I was fortunate to come across a Gracie Garage in birmingham and im rolling with other guys and trying to go through the gracie curriculum. -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2006
- Location
- Gadsden, Alabama
- Posts
- 19
- Points
- 111

Posted On:
7/12/2012 8:50pm
Style: Brazilian Jiujitsu--
I used to train at Samuel's in Birmingham and I've known/competed against guys from Spartan. It is possible that someone is trying to discredit Chris but also some of the Spartan guys have pretty wacky senses of humor and one of them might have done this as a goof, not realizing the problems it can create. Or maybe someone is just being a dick.
Spartan is definitely legit though. They're tough SOBs and train hard. -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2006
- Location
- Gadsden, Alabama
- Posts
- 19
- Points
- 111

Posted On:
7/12/2012 8:59pm



Reply With Quote











Registered Member
Posted On:
7/11/2012 12:24am
Style: Taekwondo/Eskrima
BJJ MMA gym in birmingham alabama claims on their website