Sponsored Links Spacer Image
  1. mshest

Posted On:
    7/09/2012 1:57pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

heat induced fatigue

Hi there,

I have had cardio issues even though I've been training MT & BJJ for 7 years and am in good shape. I've read a lot about breathing, sprint-training, and even gluten-free diets. I feel like I've tried everything w/out having too much success. I recently started thinking that my bad cardio problems have to do with the heat level in the gym.

First to describe my cardio issue: After training HARD for 30 minutes I feel like I have a hard time breathing and a loss of strength. Basically whether I am doing MT or BJJ I switch from thinking-aggression to survival mode.

I notice that this is much more apparent when its hot outside. The places I've trained at didn't have A/C or chose not to use it. Or maybe when its nice out, they've purposely turned up the heat. I believe that the temp inside the places is easily 90 degrees.

Now as much as I enjoy whining about that.... most everyone else is doing fine. So I'm thinking its me and possibly my reaction to the temp.

Anyone else have this reaction to high heat whether its from a hot room or from getting very hot from hard training?

Extraordinarily Ordinary

Posted On:
    7/09/2012 2:08pm

supporting member
     Style: TKD, CMA & American Kenpo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    First of all, Welcome to Bullshido.

Have you had your lung volume (capacity) and oxygen levels tested? Did you ever have asthma or bronchitis? Most important question: have you been to your doctor and explained your concerns?

3. mshest

Posted On:
    7/09/2012 2:27pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yup, I've gotten lung tests and just as a precaution they even checked my heart. The doc said everything looked fine. I've had pneumonia and bronchitis before but not asthma. I do experience something similar to this when I am taking a really hot shower... I get all tired and have a hard time breathing.