Page 1 of 7 1 2345 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    4/27/2012 12:01pm

Style: Hapkido

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

People still argue sport vs. street? 3 years later yep.

I have read a great many of the posts on this thread. Some very intelligent and some seem quite foolish. So, I figured I would add my two cents worth. Some will most likely agree others will say I am full of ****. Either way I don't really care. First I have over 25 years of experience. During that time I have trained in several different martial arts both traditional arts that many people say suck and some of the arts like BJJ and Muay Thai which some of those same people think are the only martial arts that are worth learning. My primary style is Hapkido! I want to bring up a few things:

1) When peoplse say that the only way to know if your Hapkido works is to enter a grappling tournament or a kickboxing or full contact match they are comaping apples to oranges. THESE ARE SPORT COMPETITIONS! I would agree that Hapkido training would not make you a great grappler or kickboxer. That does not mean it doesn't work! In a real world environment "self defense situation" Hapkido will work. I know this because I have used my Hapkido as a bouncer so don't go attacking me asking how I know. I have also taugh many law eforcement officers and had them come back to me with stories of how they used some of the Hapkido techniques they had learned.

2) Hapkido is not the answer for everything or everybody. If you are a MMA competitor then you should not spend the majority of your time training in Hapkido. It simply is not designed for that.

3) If all you do is practice your Hapkido from wrist grabs then your Hapkido needs to be updated. (Not the mainstream traditionalists view I'm sure)

4) Not all techniques work perfectly all the time. No technique from any art will.