Posted On:
    4/04/2012 7:33am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Wing Chun

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Newbie's Experiences With His New and Shiny Kung Fu class

Hey you guys!

So, yeah, I'm new to all this MA business. I'm your standard weak 25 year-old nerd who has never had a real workout his entire life. Well, I've been doingsome nordic walking, but I figure you probably don't think that's all that impressive. I know I don't.

I'm actually serious (as in, telling the truth) in this thread, but I picked this forum because I think it's okay for people to troll on me a little. Treating each other with respect is way overrated anyway.

So, on one of my days walking around with my sticks, trying to swing my hips as girlishly as possible, I thought, hey, why not learn Kung Fu? The guy you used to play Tekken with used to do that and what he said sounded fun. Well, not the broken ribs, but then, in an utterly unnerdish twist, I've never been too afraid of pain. I know what migraines and ear infections feel like and I know what It's like for every organ in my body to be infected all at the same time ("kawasaki syndrome" when I was twelve. Look it up, not pretty. I'm lucky to have gotten out of it without lasting damage. And yes, my family calls it motorcycle illness) and I figure a punch to the nose is poppycock compared to that. The theory, as of now, remains untested, however.

So I went to google, typed in Kung Fu school and picked whatever was closest. It was a Chin Woo school at an undisclosed location (I don't want you tough BJJ guys to find me and beat me up for learning Wing Chun in one of your "BJJ vs. X style" videos) It teaches Wing Chun as a base, then Poket and choy lee fut (however the heck you spell it) once you have some strength and Shaolin stuff for leg techniques. Also weapons. (description transcribed freely from their website)