Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/03/2012 8:31pm

Style: MMA, Wrestling, TMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Loss of Motor Skills in Full Contact?

Hey first off, hope this is in the right place. If not sorry in advance, I haven't posted on here in years.

I was sparring with some buddies last night and we filmed it. Looking back on the video, I found myself saying "Well what in f*ck's name am I doing now, exactly?"

I've been training MMA for about three years (I had probably about five serious years of TMA before this), just got my blue belt from a reputable jiu-jitsu school recently, and do a fairly serious amount of training. I drill a lot, and am one of the pretty fast learners in all the classes. My boxing looks pretty good when we're doing combos, drills, and bag work. My Muay Thai is pretty solid too because I come from a TKD and Kung Fu background so I picked up some of it quickly after unlearning the bad habits. My MMA coach who is a professional fighter even wants me to fight in an amateur match, and wants to bring me in to train at Guy Mezger's gym nearby with some people more my size (a lot of the fighters at my gym dwarf my 140 lb frame). All in all, most of the time I feel like I'm on my way to becoming a pretty successful fighter.

The only problem is that when sh*t hits the fan and people start slugging me in the jaw, my motor skills go out the window. I start swinging like an idiot, my jiu-jitsu becomes white belt (I've heard that's to be expected though), I don't cover myself, my boxing goes to Hell, and I generally look like an idiot with no clue what he's doing.

I originally thought maybe if I just got hit in the face more, I'd get used to it and my motor skills would start to stay. Well, obviously since I've switched from TMA to MMA I've been hit in the face significantly more. I've sparred way more too, but I still can't seem to retain the skills I can pull off in class during sparring.