Featherweight

Posted On:
    1/31/2012 1:32am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Inosanto Kali/JKD

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Writing a Dissertation on Martial Arts Businesses, Need Peer-Reviewed Texts

I'm doing a Masters Degree in Corporate Governance and Ethics and having been a keen martial artist for over a decade I felt that the topic of commercially run martial arts schools (and their frequent descent into McDojoism) would be an interesting topic for my dissertation.

Whilst there is no shortage of anecdotal evidence on the site, I would love to know if anyone knows of any peer-reviewed articles/studies/books on the subject?

I have already found some peer-reviewed stuff on Diploma Mills which I think will be a helpful point of comparison: much of the MA world is a little confusing to laypeople, but the struggle to run a teaching enterprise which maintains standards and treats students fairly whilst remaining profitable is by no means new to a professional academic.

Any thoughts?

Posted On:
    1/31/2012 2:21am

supporting member
     Style: Taijiquan/Shuai-Chiao/BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    This is not the proper forum.

Also, do your own homework. Don't they have JSTOR in England?

Featherweight

Posted On:
    1/31/2012 12:41pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rivington View Post
    This is not the proper forum.

Also, do your own homework. Don't they have JSTOR in England?
    In the order in which you raised these points:

Really? Which would be more suitable?

Keep your hair on, I'm just trying to get some suggestions, I have already done some extensive research: so far I have articles out the wazoo but nothing peer-reviewed on Martial Arts businesses.

I think so, my university's just **** about creating and circulating the necessary logins for this stuff. I saw some items which would be interesting but which are behind paywalls.

Extraordinarily Ordinary

Posted On:
    1/31/2012 4:39pm