218358 Bullies, 7568 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Results 1 to 10 of 78
Page 1 of 8 1 2345 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image
  1. Ki-ai is offline

    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden (just south of the Polar Bears)
    Posts
    28

    Posted On:
    1/29/2012 1:29pm


     Style: BJJ

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

    BJJ Rules

    Hello, I am a BJJ Blue Belt from Stockholm Sweden. A friend of mine competed in the recent European Open Championships but was sadly eliminated in the first round. His opponent did a few things that I thought was reason for disqualification. Could you guys tell me why I am wrong. The referee is the headreferee for the European Championships so it is probably me who doesn't understand the rules.



    It's the fight between White and Blue (My guy)

    I thought:

    That you are disqualified if you slam (twice)

    That you lose two points when warned the second time

    Slams happen at around 2:20
    Last edited by Ki-ai; 1/29/2012 2:07pm at . Reason: Silly me
  2. wetware is online now

    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, IN
    Posts
    1,077

    Posted On:
    1/29/2012 1:44pm


     Style: BJJ/MT

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    A video would likely be helpful.
  3. Ki-ai is offline

    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden (just south of the Polar Bears)
    Posts
    28

    Posted On:
    1/29/2012 2:07pm


     Style: BJJ

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    That was...stupid. Video is now included
  4. wetware is online now

    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, IN
    Posts
    1,077

    Posted On:
    1/29/2012 4:31pm


     Style: BJJ/MT

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Wow. Those hardly even qualify as slams any more. Those are ridiculous and there should have been something said, at the very least. Was this event using IBJJF rules?

    http://www.ibjjf.org/docs/rulesibjjf1stedition.pdf
  5. Omega Supreme is offline

    Administrator

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    22,923

    Posted On:
    1/29/2012 11:54pm

    staff
     Style: Chinese Boxing

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Ki-ai View Post
    Hello, I am a BJJ Blue Belt from Stockholm Sweden. A friend of mine competed in the recent European Open Championships but was sadly eliminated in the first round. His opponent did a few things that I thought was reason for disqualification. Could you guys tell me why I am wrong. The referee is the headreferee for the European Championships so it is probably me who doesn't understand the rules.



    It's the fight between White and Blue (My guy)

    I thought:

    That you are disqualified if you slam (twice)

    That you lose two points when warned the second time

    Slams happen at around 2:20
    Wasn't aSlam.
  6. wetware is online now

    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, IN
    Posts
    1,077

    Posted On:
    1/30/2012 1:16am


     Style: BJJ/MT

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    How is it not a slam? (No, seriously...)

    Slams have always been defined by my instructors as picking up a downed opponent up off the mat in order to return them there with force.
  7. DKJr is online now
    DKJr's Avatar

    Fasten your seat belts, and prepare for lift off

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    3,201

    Posted On:
    1/30/2012 2:50am

    supporting member
     Style: Combat Cuddling

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

    That was a lifted double.
  8. PointyShinyBurn is online now
    PointyShinyBurn's Avatar

    Gnarly King of Half-Guard

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4,226

    Posted On:
    1/30/2012 5:44am

    Join us... or die
     Style: BJJ

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by David Koresh Jr. View Post
    Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

    That was a lifted double.
    The distinction you're talking about has nothing to do with what IBJJF rules call a slam. A "slam" is lifting a guy from a grounded position (usually the guard) and dropping him back down.

    Those weren't slams because your friend was in the process of returning to his feet and his opponent took him back down, which you can do as hard as you like. For it to be a slam he has to pick him up from guard, not just accelerate him as he stands up under his own power.
  9. Omega Supreme is offline

    Administrator

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    22,923

    Posted On:
    1/30/2012 10:40am

    staff
     Style: Chinese Boxing

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by David Koresh Jr. View Post
    Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

    That was a lifted double.
    What he said.
  10. Omega Supreme is offline

    Administrator

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    22,923

    Posted On:
    1/30/2012 10:41am

    staff
     Style: Chinese Boxing

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by PointyShinyBurn View Post
    The distinction you're talking about has nothing to do with what IBJJF rules call a slam. A "slam" is lifting a guy from a grounded position (usually the guard) and dropping him back down.

    Those weren't slams because your friend was in the process of returning to his feet and his opponent took him back down, which you can do as hard as you like.
    Not entirely true but that's semantics.
Page 1 of 8 1 2345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Powered by vBulletin™© contact@vbulletin.com vBulletin Solutions, Inc. 2011 All rights reserved.