Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    1/06/2012 9:59am

Style: Boxing,Kickboxing K1

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Broadening the curriculum?

Hello all, my name is Erez and I have been doing MA a big chunk of my life like most of us here. I am an assisting boxing couch (we also do kickboxing but most of the time we train in classic boxing) I have been training there for the last 9 years. We are located in Jerusalem Israel.

Most of our clientele are either students in the nearby uni or young adults (late 20's and early 30's) and we have no competitors right now. I guess the reason we all train there is for sports and the added self defense skills.

Now to my point, because my trainer (an ex Russian in his fifty's) is broad minded, we thought it would be good to round out our skill set a bit and of course we are lacking in grappling, We have decided to add some grappling curriculum. nothing much off course we are no experts on grappling (though we both did some judo.)

One of the men training with us is a great grappler (he does boxing to get fit and round his own set of skills) and he agreed to partake and teach us some basic concepts like rolls and break falls and such.

We also started to add to the warm-ups some wrestling (we do a round in which you try and lift your partner from the ground and vice versa, or a round of trying to grab a belt, or a round of "sumo" trying to push him off a mat.) All those drills we use as balance enhancers and such, to actually improve our boxing.

My question is, if you had a limited amount of time from each boxing class, let's say 20 minutes, what would you add and in what order to slightly better your skill set?

I guess our goal is to provide somewhat better self defense skills to our students (me included) outside the boxing ring.

Thank you in advance
    Erez.

Administrator

Posted On:
    1/06/2012 10:16am

staff
     Style: Chinese Boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Administrator