Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    11/13/2011 11:09am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Pekiti-tirsia

Hi!

I recently decided to get back into MAs after a huge break. I always thought bashing sticks was fun, so decided to do escrima.

A local gym offers pekiti-tirsia. I have done some Doce Pares stuff many years ago, how do the schools / styles differ?

I am probably going to go anyway...I'd just like some info.

Thanks.

Watch and Shoot !

Posted On:
    11/13/2011 6:19pm

staff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Welcome to the site. I'm sure someone with experience in escrima will be along to advise you.
    "To sin by silence when one should protest makes cowards out of men".

~Ella Wheeler

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/14/2011 1:10am

Style: Krav Maga

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I am a Krav Maga practitioner and just did a 2 day workshop on Pekiti-Tirsia with GrandMaster Tuhon Gaje. I have no experience with escrima.

From what I gathered from my 2 days of Pekiti-Tirsia, it's based on combat techniques using 2 sticks and a knife. It's focus is on geometry: triangles to be exact. Everything from your foot work to your attacks are based on it.

I am guessing that both dojo offer trial classes. You should take advantage and try both places. More than the MA style, the instructor style is vital. Also, maybe sure they offer sparring rather than just drills.

Enjoy,

Posted On:
    11/27/2011 9:36pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Pekiti Tirsia Kali

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I think that it's something a lot of people would enjoy. You're right, bashing sticks is fun (bashing knuckles is not, however!). I also was at the seminar put on by Grand Tuhon, and I learned a lot that weekend. I think that you should go to the gym near you and give it a try. What have you got to lose other than an hour or two of your time?

I read a little about Doce Pares escrima and I think that if you enjoyed that, you'd probably like PTK.

Posted On: