Agreed. Props to her for saving the video all this time. Revenge is a dish best served cold.
Yeah I found out later on youtube she filmed it so after previous beatings she must've wised up and left the camera on for next time.
Originally Posted by EmperorCesar
The part where both the mother and father are cursing at her to "get on your fucking/goddamn stomach" to take her beating...classy parenting. Because the best way to dish out corporeal punishment to your kids is to treat them like shiphands caught stealing rum on a voyage to the Barbary Coast in the 17th century, right? Pirate justice.
"Strap em to the mast, matey...20 lashes with the cat-o-nine-tails! Arggh."
At one point after beating her the father actually says "I didn't get my lick in". Sure sounds like he was enjoying that rage of his.
But this irony takes the cake:
"You wanna put some more computer games on? Fucking computers, didn't want one in the goddamn house see all the trouble they cause".
Guess what Your Honor, the computer just made the case against you. You were right about the trouble part...weren't you?
Welcome to the 21st century. America hates you, Judge.
Last edited by W. Rabbit; 11/03/2011 8:52am at .
The SoL on assault and battery has passed, per news interviews. What they need to get this judge on is something else...some sort of moral misconduct to remove him from the bench.
Originally Posted by Drmarrello
Just read Texas statutes of limitations regarding injury to a juvenile. If the severity of the beating warrants a felony charge, the statute of limitations is 10 years. Not from the date of the crime though. The countdown starts when the juvenile turns 18. So he can still be prosecuted crminally until she's 28.
If a misdemeanor, it's 4 years. It is not clear to me on when the countdown starts for a misdemeanor assault on a minor though.
Quoting Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Art. 12.01. FELONIES.
Except as provided in Article 12.03, felony indictments may be presented within these limits, and not afterward:
(1) no limitation: (A) murder and manslaughter;
(B) sexual assault, if during the investigation of the offense biological matter is collected and subjected to forensic DNA testing and the testing results show that the matter does not match the victim or any other person whose identity is readily ascertained; or
(C) an offense involving leaving the scene of an accident under Section 550.021, Transportation Code, if the accident resulted in the death of a person;
(2) ten years from the date of the commission of the offense: (A) theft of any estate, real, personal or mixed, by an executor, administrator, guardian or trustee, with intent to defraud any creditor, heir, legatee, ward, distributee, beneficiary or settlor of a trust interested in such estate;
(B) theft by a public servant of government property over which he exercises control in his official capacity;
(C) forgery or the uttering, using or passing of forged instruments;
(D) injury to a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual punishable as a felony of the first degree under Section 22.04, Penal Code;
(E) sexual assault, except as provided by Subdivision (1) or (5); or
(3) seven years from the date of the commission of the offense: (A) misapplication of fiduciary property or property of a financial institution;
(B) securing execution of document by deception; or
(C) a violation under Sections 162.403(22)-(39), Tax Code;
(4) five years from the date of the commission of the offense: (A) theft, burglary, robbery;
(C) injury to a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual that is not punishable as a felony of the first degree under Section 22.04, Penal Code;
(D) abandoning or endangering a child; or
(E) insurance fraud;
(5) ten years from the 18th birthday of the victim of the offense: (A) indecency with a child under Section 21.11(a)(1) or (2), Penal Code; or
(B) except as provided by Subdivision (1), sexual assault under Section 22.011(a)(2), Penal Code, or aggravated sexual assault under Section 22.021(a)(1)(B), Penal Code; or (6) three years from the date of the commission of the offense: all other felonies.
Correction: the starting at 18 yoa for the countdown is for Indecency with a child.
Perhaps it is 10 years from commission for a felony, and 4 years from commission for a misdemeanor.
Sections 2D, 4C (5 years... my bad), and section 5 for indecency.
There has already been at least one other Texas judge on the news who has said the statute of limitations has run out for assault and battery.
The judge made a decent point that there are 22 countries that outlaw corporeal child punishment in the home, and the US is not one of them.
Dr. Drew emotionally disagreed, but let's face it he's a basket case.
The beating as a crime (ie one that would send him to jail, etc), this judge may be in the clear.
As to some sort of misconduct charge that would at least remove him as judge...that's the bigger issue and seems very, very likely.
Parents still use belts on their kids in the US, it is completely legal unless it goes over the line. Whose line? Until the USSC weighs in again, who knows. The last time they did it was for corporeal punishment in schools and guess who won that one? The school.
What would you choose, the leather belt or "Ole Thunder"???
Last edited by W. Rabbit; 11/03/2011 11:00am at .
The story is international, it was on the front page of the Metro Herald today (free newspaper in Dublin, Ireland).
I saw some half hearted attempts by the mother to stop the beating ("I've already spanked her", bargining that the mother would hit the child once to stop the father's beatings, etc.).
The most horrible part was the douche bag in question trying to shift the blame to the child, the classic kind of "see what you're making me do" line of anti-reasoning that abusers use.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO