Welterweight

Posted On:
    8/11/2011 12:05pm

supporting member
     Style: belt and jacket wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

high collar grip options

This is directed toward you judo guys... I'm pretty new to judo, so I'm looking for some help. I should also preface this by saying that I'm not sure if "high collar grip" is the proper terminology, even though I saw it in some other threads.

What I'm speaking of specifically is a high grip behind uke's neck, where his head posture is broken down a bit. I've been using this a lot lately, because I feel like I have excellent control over my opponent, but I'm sort of lost as to what throws I should be looking for. I have a feeling that I could hit sasae tsurikomi ashi, or hiza guruma, or deashi harai, but I wanted to hear from those with more experience... What are your go-to throws from there? Are there any things I need to watch out for, risks or risk-vs-reward, etc.?

solves problems with violence

Posted On:
    8/11/2011 12:15pm

supporting member
     Style: Judo, Hung Family Boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    you can use that grip for many, many throws, however, as a beginner, i would suggest that you focus on the standard sleeve/lapel grip as it will force you to get better at the fundamentals.

you might want to check out the youtube videos by ptnippon for a better explanation than i can give, he talks about the high collar grip at around the 5 minute mark in this video:
    http://youtu.be/t4T5rXyCQvs
    "Face punches are an essential character building part of a martial art. You don't truly love your children unless you allow them to get punched in the face." - chi-conspiricy
    "When I was a little boy, I had a sailor suit, but it didn't mean I was in the Navy." - Mtripp on the subject of a 5 year old karate black belt
    "Without actual qualifications to be a Zen teacher, your instructor is just another roundeye raping Asian culture for a buck." - Errant108