Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2011 1:03pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Maintaining judo skills while injured

I hurt my neck during Randori, now I'm seeing doctors, having MRI's etc. I don't know when I'll be able to get back to training. Does anyone have any suggestions on things I can do on my own to at least maintain some skill?

You have to work the look.

Posted On:
    7/13/2011 1:22pm

supporting member
     Style: Judo, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    How long have you been doing judo? How does your doc feel about you exercising in general?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2011 1:38pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I've been doing Judo for about two years. Not terribly long. My doc has ok'd me for bodyweight exercises, pushups, squats etc. as long as I'm not feeling any pain. But wants me to stay away from the weights, and no Judo of course.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/13/2011 6:50pm

Style: BJJ, Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    At two years in I don't feel that you're ready to do solo directly judo-related exercises without supervision without breeding bad habits (unless you're in an incredible club with extremely good coaches and thus progress very rapidly). In theory there's a lot of things you can do with elastic straps of some sort and a solid object, or a wall, but I think it would do you more harm than good at this point in your training.

A much more important goal would be to maintain physical status quo (assuming you were in okay shape before your accident). It was very annoying to return to judo after my clavicle fracture(s) and not to be able to follow along as well as I used to. At least maintain cardio, and since you can do calisthenics that might also be a good idea (stop if there's any pain).