Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    7/04/2011 3:55pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Seoi nage – An Introduction

This is intended to be a brief introduction to Seoi nage, in its two major forms. It is not in any way a masterclass or in depth exploration of throw, for the simple reason that I’m not very good at it.

So without further ado.

Seoi Nage Basics

Spacing –

Fundamental to both Ippon and Morote seoi nage is correct spacing between uke and tori. This is often the critical error in a beginner Seoi nage and has negative consequences for all other aspects of the throw.

Regular readers will be familiar with the basic spacing concept the triangle.

That core idea of ensuring their is enough space between uke and tori after the initial step for tori to turn into and for uke’s balance to be broken into remains.

However it is modified slightly.

Instead of the triangle it is better to think of a rectangle.

Tori’s initial step should be to the corner of the rectangle

The reason the rectangle is a better aide memoire for spacing than the triangle, for Seoi nage. Is because it ensures that tori’s hips and body and correctly aligned.

Stepping to the top of the triangle in Seoi nage

Often means that as you attempt to load uke onto your back that they become twisted around your body.

Thus setting the throw up for failure as uke is not loaded properly onto tori’s back.

Body posture –

One of the major structural errors with Seoi nage and often an error that is a consequence of failure to achieve proper spacing is body positioning.

You must have a straight back with hips slightly lower than uke’s and your feet in the correct position

Head –

To ensure that you have a straight back and good body posture it is vital that during tsukuri you keep your head up.

When practicing entries during uchikomi it is often beneficial for beginners to pause and look straight ahead to ingrain correct habits.

Common errors