Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/02/2011 3:49am

Style: BJJ and Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Ideal Height/Weight Ratio for BJJ

So I got sold by a discussion on the importance of competition in BJJ in another thread and have decided to strap on a sack and compete. That being said, everyone at my gym that competes cuts serious weight. Now Im a complete newb and have some need for advice on the subject. Whats the benefit of cutting weight in Jits. Pros and Cons. Is there anyone that doesnt cut weight and competes? Im really short (5'5") and my walk-around weight is 165lbs and the most I could realistically get down to in 3 months is 135lbs. I will most likely be putting on Blue belt before competition.

Super Feather up to 141.0 lbs
    Feather up to 154.5 lbs
    Light up to 167.5 lbs

Fasten your seat belts, and prepare for lift off

Posted On:
    6/02/2011 3:54am

supporting member
     Style: Combat Cuddling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Only cut about 8-10lbs. Usually what you can lose by not eating for 24 hours and not drinking for 12. I've done 15lbs weight cuts before in 2 days it's rough and even if you do make it you're tired as balls. Best to plan two months ahead to supplement your bjj training with high rep low weight lifting. Lots of Cleans, Snatches, OH press, lunges, squats, pull ups, etc. Then just gradually lower your calorie intake.

TLDR Version. Cut out bad food, drink lots of water, weight lift, train hard.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/02/2011 4:28am

Style: BJJ n stuff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!