Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/01/2011 9:04am

Style: BJJ and Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Dojime or Guard- Wheres the line?

So when I started training Judo I would often get thrown and land in guard. Its muscle memory for me and a habit I can't seem to break, nor do I really want to. My Sensei says its illegal to use guard at the point the ankles cross, but USJF competition rules say its "ankles crossed and legs extended" which I take to mean it isn't considered Dojime until you extend the legs in an attempt to submit.

I searched the threads and saw some discussion about it, but what I would like to hear about is experiences from other Judokas that have competed and have either used closed guard or had it used on them and the results that they have experienced. Do judges normally call it Dojime as soon as the ankles cross, or can you get away with it generally, and also what are the positive and negative effects of allowing or banning the closed guard from Judo?

My dog is cuter and smarter than yours.

Posted On:
    6/01/2011 9:22am

Join us... or die
     Style: Kodokan Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by CheeksWWAC View Post
    So when I started training Judo I would often get thrown and land in guard. Its muscle memory for me and a habit I can't seem to break, nor do I really want to. My Sensei says its illegal to use guard at the point the ankles cross, but USJF competition rules say its "ankles crossed and legs extended" which I take to mean it isn't considered Dojime until you extend the legs in an attempt to submit.