Our Sponsors:

Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    4/27/2011 8:03pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Does this even need an investigation?

I am no expert on martial arts. I am just a fan. That said, I got excited when I saw a sign for Gracie Jiu Jitsu in Mobile, AL. Then, I looked it up, and alarm bells started going off. The website is teamhopkinsgjj.com . The instructors listed in their Pensacola, FL, and Mobile, AL locations have brown belts as owners/head instructors, and blue belts and a green belt (Mobile) and a purple belt and blue belt (Pensacola). No ranking is listed for the owner/head instructor in Morgan City, LA, and his assistant is a blue belt. The other three locations each have at least one black belt.

I suppose my question is this: Does this sound as "off" to anyone else as it does to me?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    4/27/2011 11:58pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Alas, if only there were some way to contact the head instructor and ask what his credentials are...

Administrator

Posted On:
    4/28/2011 12:46am

staff
     Style: xingyi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by childofthe80s View Post
    I am no expert on martial arts. I am just a fan. That said, I got excited when I saw a sign for Gracie Jiu Jitsu in Mobile, AL. Then, I looked it up, and alarm bells started going off. The website is teamhopkinsgjj.com . The instructors listed in their Pensacola, FL, and Mobile, AL locations have brown belts as owners/head instructors, and blue belts and a green belt (Mobile) and a purple belt and blue belt (Pensacola). No ranking is listed for the owner/head instructor in Morgan City, LA, and his assistant is a blue belt. The other three locations each have at least one black belt.

I suppose my question is this: Does this sound as "off" to anyone else as it does to me?
    Off is your knowledge of teaching ranks in BJJ and the difference between Instructor and assistant instructor.