Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    4/19/2011 6:39pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

CMA History

I think I should kick things off by saying I’m not a CMA practitioner, nor even a casual observer. I wouldn’t recognise Xingyi if it fell out of a tree and hit me and my best guess of what do with Chi Sao is to put it on some crispy duck. However, I am a history student with an interest and some limited expertise in Chinese history. I was initially drawn to this topic by a post many months ago about how Chinese martial artists supported themselves and from there it developed into a wider look at the history of Chinese martial arts.

As such this is presented more to create discussion points and prompt others to bring their own expertise and conduct their own research. This is not intended as a lecture expounding a definitive history of Chinese martial arts.

Martial arts don’t get much attention from mainstream historians and as a result there is a very real scarcity of proper historical research on the subject. Falling in between the cracks of various disciplines not considered significant by military historians and viewed as somewhat of an oddity and irrelevance by social and cultural historians. Even when eminent and world leading scholars, like Needham, engage with the subject of martial arts they are prone to the same casual public misconceptions, half truths and pseudo history that clouds so much genuine study of martial arts history. As such much of this information is drawn from far fewer sources than would normally be acceptable historical practice, however, those few sources draw on a vast array of primary and secondary sources from Chinese historians and original Chinese documents.

I’m going to split this up into 4 categories:

Chinese ‘boxing’

CMA and religion

The Shaolin monastery

Myth busting

This is to avoid a lengthy narrative and allow people to pick out key points of interest.

Chinese ‘Boxing’