Featherweight

Posted On:
    3/22/2011 3:41pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Conditioning your striking weapons

I am new here, but I have 7 years of martial arts experience, three years in aikido which I have mostly discarded, and 5 years in karate with a shodan ranking.

I am curious as to how all of you condition your striking implements.
    I myself give my hands the once over on the makiwara three times a week, I do kotekitae, I whack my shins and arms with rubber mallets and then rub them down, I do weight bearing exercises on my big toes in addition to whacking them, and I do finger exercises to improve my spearhands. Also how should I condition my knees and elbows for impact if possible without screwing them up?

What do you all do to conditiion the things you perhaps intend to use one day to beat the crap out of people?

Posted On:
    3/22/2011 3:43pm

Style: BJJ/MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    ... I punch bags and people. I don't plan on doing battle with robots any time soon, nor do I know the process for making a golem.

STOP POSTING!

Posted On:
    3/22/2011 3:45pm

supporting member
     Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by HARDERISAY View Post
    I am new here, but I have 7 years of martial arts experience, three years in aikido which I have mostly discarded, and 5 years in karate with a shodan ranking.

I am curious as to how all of you condition your striking implements.
    I myself give my hands the once over on the makiwara three times a week, I do kotekitae, I whack my shins and arms with rubber mallets and then rub them down, I do weight bearing exercises on my big toes in addition to whacking them, and I do finger exercises to improve my spearhands. Also how should I condition my knees and elbows for impact if possible without screwing them up?

What do you all do to conditiion the things you perhaps intend to use one day to beat the crap out of people?