Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/07/2011 1:29pm

Style: Kunst des Fechten, Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Kampfringen - Judo crosstraining question

note - cross posted to JudoForum as well.

Hello folks, as I've said before I'm a student of a grappling art known by the names of kampfringen/abrazare. In short, it's medieval wrestling, applied variously in armed and unarmed situations.

Recently I've been trying to introduce more of an emphasis on grappling in the fencing study group I am with. Longsword and dagger are fine things, but they're incomplete without a basis in wrestling and close-work. Thus I proposed this as a purely grapple sparring/drill.

* Drill Number - 0038
    * Drill Name Unterhalten Beta
    * Type - Game
    * Skills Trained Ringen, Unterhalten, Grapple Control, Dagger awareness
    * Props - Dagger simulator, a safe grappling surface of your choice
    * Description This one straddles the line between drilling and free-sparring. The two grapplers each have a dagger on their belt. The rules are that any grappling technique may be used to bring the opponent to the ground. The daggers may not be drawn until the parties are on the ground. The aim of the drill is to teach control of your opponent before going for your weapon - getting a clean kill without a counterblow is the goal.
    * Remarks This drill is of course mildly unrealistic. Daggers would come out immediately if they were available in most cases. However, there are some cases where someone might wish to subdue their opponent before pulling a weapon. Rare, but having the skill is valuable. This allows people to focus on grappling someone to the ground, -then- worry about daggers involved in the mess, without it turning into the knife fights from Thriller or West Side Story. For those unfamiliar with the term, unterhalten is the principle of controlling an enemy once he's on the ground (pins, but also locks, etc).