Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/09/2004 2:33am

Style: Choy Li Fut

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Strength Training for the Martial Arts

Hey guys,

I'm looking for some advice on making a strength training program for myself. My goal is to be lean and powerfull. I am a martial artist of Choy Li Fut Kung Fu, and have been traning for about 1 1/2 years now. I go to Kung Fu about 3-4 times per week. The sessions last for usually about 1-2 hours and include:
    • Form practice
      Kicking and Punching
      Ground Fighting
      Sparring
      Tai Chi
      Combat Techniques

I get a great cardio workout from Kung Fu through sparring and all of the forms practice that i do, but i dont get any real strength training. The only strength training i get is in my legs from holding low stances during class. I weigh about 175 pounds, and am 5'10. I am already a pretty big guy and have a lot of Brute Strength. I am looking to increase some muscle mass, while losing some body fat. I don not want to become "Muscle Bound" and lose speed or flexibility because of muscle gain. I am thinking of a "Bruce Lee" type of physique, geared towards the martial arts, and not just bodybuilding. I don't know whether i should do bodyweight exercises, pushups, pull-ups, situps, sissy squats, etc. Or whether i should use weights. If i do use weights, should they be low weight and high rep, or the other way around. I want to improve my speed and flexibility through strength training and i want to tone my muscles and increase their endurance while adding power to my strikes as well. An example of a goal i have is to be able to preform one legged squats, as i will have to for future forms in my Kung Fu system. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. If you have time you might even make me a strength training program;) . Thanks for taking the time to help, and train well!

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/09/2004 2:44am

Style: Vaghi BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!