Dysfunctionally Strong

Posted On:
    12/18/2010 1:26am

supporting member
     Style: Boxing/Wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

New weight training plan I've developed: 3 steps forward, 2 steps back

First of all, let me make it clear that I am not a personal trainer, nor do I have a degree or any sort of certification in physical training. I am not a competitive powerlifter, just a hobbyist. That said, I've been weight training for a while, and have read up a lot of the subject, and after hitting the same wall on linear progression over and over on my squat, I finally sat down, looked over some old training notes, and came up with something that has really blown me away, so I thought I'd share it here.

Periodization strategy

Week 1

Start with X weight. Train X for 3 sets x 5 reps
    Next training day, use X+5lbs, train for 3x5
    Next training day, use X+10, train for 5 reps, 3 reps, 3 reps

Week 2
    Start with X+5. Train X+5 for 3x5
    Next training day, use X+10, train for 3x5
    Next training day, use X+15, train for 5,3,3

Continue indefinitely.

Benefits of periodization style
    -Constant progression: Because of the employment of microcycles and “softening”, the trainee is in a constant state of “building up”. The trainee never stays at the same weight for multiple training sessions in a row, and there is no “grinding out reps”
    -Constant success: Every training day is some sort of victory. On the first, you are making a weight that was once previously your “light weight”. On the middle day, you get a rep PR. On the heavy day, you get a weight PR. Good motivation.
    -Built in deload: No monitoring necessary. Every week has a deload on the first day in terms of weight, and on the final day in terms of volume.