Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/15/2002 2:27am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I've been training for almost 20 years and still am nowhere close to being able to do a side split... I can however do a full front split. This really shows in my kicks. I can only throw side kicks and round kicks shoulder height while my cresent and axe kicks are well over my head.

I watch new students starting out and within a year they pass me in flexiblity.....Granted, I'm an old bastard (38).

Any ideas would be well appreciated.

(I know, you BJJ guys are thinking "Why in the hell would anybody want to kick that high anyway."

Decafinated white belt.

Posted On:
    11/15/2002 2:44am

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    my hips just don't like a stretch to a side like that... front its not a problem though....

Hey, why kick high when you hands are up there already? or if you MUST kick his head put his head down to meet your foot, not bring up your foot!

<Me> John, what do you know about Zen Buddhism? <John> *smacks me*
    <John> I'd have to smack you sometime...
    Katana, on 540 kicks: "Hang from a ceiling fan with both hands. Flail your feet out and ask people to walk into you as you hit their face."

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/15/2002 2:49am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    You're right.... No reason to have to kick that high for self defense....... My poomsae has all these high side and round kicks in it... Just trying to improve that aspect.
  4. Michael

Posted On:
    11/15/2002 2:53am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Grab 3 sumo wrestlers. 2 will hold your feet in split position while the 3rd jumps on your back...this is no joke man I've seen it on video.

Two guys walk into a bar....ouch that's gotta hurt.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/15/2002 2:57am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!