Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/27/2010 3:41pm

Style: KK

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Trying Kyokushin for the first time - need guidance please

So, I've been studying Aikijutsu/JJJ for around 4 years, and I'm looking for more striking, sparring and aliveness. I've looked into BJJ and MT in my area, and it simply doesn't fit into my current budget. I've managed to locate a Kyokushin dojo near me and I'm going to try my first class tonight. The place is literally only $40 per month with no contracts or initiation fees (cheap seems to be a good sign with Japanese arts generally).

I have an idea from what I've heard here and other places that I should expect a good workout and to see full contact sparring (even though I'll probably not participate yet).

But, since I've never trained Kyokushin, I don't know what I should be looking for; things which might either be good signs or bad signs concerning this particular dojo. I've got a pretty good feel for common red flags, but I was wondering if any bullies with Kyokushin experience could give me some more specific pointers as to what I should be looking for and what may be a red flag. Thanks in advance!

Posted On:
    10/27/2010 3:57pm

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Don't be put off if you see kata. It's karate, not kickboxing, so there's still going to be a few of the traditional trappings. Also, in my own experience as well as what others here have said, you probably shouldn't expect to be taken aside as a beginner and worked with. This isn't them not caring about your development as a student. According to some of the old-school KK guys here, the reasoning is that either you'll hang around long enough to pick it up on your own, or you'll quit, in which case they didn't really need to work with you anyway.