Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/20/2010 6:42am

Style: BJJ, striking

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Maybe I'm just not "a fighter"

Hey guys,

I know I'm a newbie so if this isn't the correct forum please forgive and move ( so soddy...). Anyway, I've never been much of a fighter, didn't get involved in many in school, never provoked one. Always been more of a thinker/calmer type dude. Anyway, I recently started taking martial arts again (see styles) and I'm enjoying it but noticing that especially during sparring (we do "light" contact with pads at our current rank which is yellow) I'm very open to attack and just don't feel "good" at it yet. I land a few great shots from time to time because I'm intelligent but that's about it.

I don't seem to have the "vision" is the best way I can say it. My instructor is great so far at pointing out tips, teaching me how to defend my face/body, move and look for openings, check, etc but I'm just...I don't know...unconfident I guess.

Now, I'm sure I'm just being a ***** (and I would expect to be called nothing less here) but it seems to me there should eventually come a time when I feel confident going into a sparring match/fight/etc. I'm looking forward to doing more sparring/groundwork/etc. too to help me be more well-rounded.

Will this ever come? Is it just a pure lack of experience that will come with time? Are there other people on here willing to drop the machismo and relate with their own anecdotes?

Am I just a wuss? :suicide:

Thanks for the responses.

Posted On:
    10/20/2010 6:51am

Style: mma /boxing/muai thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    We had this discussion at my boxing class recently. Sparring is fun when you are flogging the **** out of the other guy. Not so fun when you are getting beat up and overwelmed.

If you are new and sparring is uncomfortable then with experience you should get better.
    If you have been training 5 years and it is still the case then you have an issue